Skip to content

Flood Assistance Available to Local Governments in 46 Missouri Counties; Application Deadline is July 10

Forty-six Missouri counties are included in a presidential disaster declaration that makes federal financial and technical assistance available to stabilize and restore eligible streams, streambanks and flood-control structures damaged by storms and flooding in April and May.

The assistance is available from the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service through its Emergency Watershed Protection Program (EWP). EWP provides financial and technical assistance for restoration measures including levee repair, logjam removal, sediment removal from drainage ditches, and streambank stabilization near roads, bridges and buildings. An EWP project must have a local sponsor that is a legal subdivision of state government, such as cities, counties, levee districts and drainage districts. Sponsors must submit applications for assistance to NRCS by July 10.

The counties eligible for EWP assistance are Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Iron, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, Texas, Washington, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.

For further information, please visit or contact the local NRCS office serving your county. NRCS offices can be found in the phone book under “U.S. Government, Department of Agriculture,” or online at

Leave a Comment