Skip to content

Recovery Center Opens in Wayne County to Help Missouri Flood Survivors 

A new FEMA Disaster Recovery Center opens Thursday, July 20, in Wayne County. The recovery center offers in-person support to individuals and businesses in any of the 35 counties included in the Missouri federal disaster declaration for flooding and severe storms that occurred between April 28 and May 11, 2017.

Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will be at the center to discuss assistance and to help anyone who needs information or assistance filing an application. The deadline to register for FEMA assistance and apply for an SBA low-interest disaster loan is Tuesday, Aug. 1, 2017.

The Wayne County recovery center will open Thursday, July 20, and close Tuesday, July 25. It is located at:

Greenville City Hall
108 Walnut St.
Greenville, MO 63944

The center will be open during the following hours:

Thursday, July 20 & Friday, July 21:
9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Saturday, July 22:
9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Sunday: Closed

Monday, July 24 & Tuesday, July 25:
9 a.m. to 7 p.m.


The center closes permanently at 7 p.m. Tuesday, July 25.

Homeowners, renters and business-owners are encouraged to register with FEMA before visiting a disaster recovery center. Survivors can register online at or by calling toll-free 800-621-3362. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Services may call 800-621-3362. Those who use TTY may call 800-462-7585; MO Relay 800-735-2966; CapTel 877-242-2823; Speech to Speech 877-735-7877; VCO 800-735-0135. Multilingual registration assistance is available. Operators will be available from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Survivors may also register using the FEMA app for smartphones.

The following information is helpful when registering:

  • Social Security number
  • Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address)
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows FEMA to directly transfer disaster assistance funds into a bank account)
  • A description of disaster-caused damage and losses

Disaster survivors can visit any of the FEMA disaster centers for assistance. Find the center nearest you by going online at and at

FEMA provides grants to qualified individuals for rental assistance, home repairs or other serious disaster-related losses.

SBA offers low-interest disaster loans to businesses of all sizes, most private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters.

SBA also offers low-interest working capital loans (called Economic Injury Disaster Loans) to small businesses and most private nonprofit organizations having difficulty meeting obligations as a result of the disaster.

For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing, or visiting SBA’s website at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339.

Missouri’s State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and FEMA are committed to ensuring services and assistance are available for people with disabilities or others with access and functional needs. People who have a need or a request for reasonable accommodation should let the staff know when they register.

The federal disaster declaration covers eligible losses caused by flooding and severe storms between April 28 and May 11, 2017 in these counties: Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Christian, Crawford, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, Texas, Wayne and Wright.

Leave a Comment