Skip to content

Race Develops For State Rep.

In District 153, which is currently represented by Steve Cookson, two Republicans have declared their candidacies— Jack Johnson of Gatewood and Jeff Shawan of rural Poplar Bluff. Matt Michel of Fairdealing is currently unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

Circuit Judge

Very rarely does the 42nd Judicial Circuit have a contested race for judge. This year, there will be a race in both the primary and general elections.

Megan Seay of Salem, Scott Bernstein of Davisville, and Glenn Hall of Salem are vying for the Republican nomination for circuit judge. Incumbent Sid Pearson of Salem is currently unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

Wayne County Filings

Kent Sisco of Piedmont filed on the Republican ticket for county clerk. Tara Smith, who is the deputy assessor, filed on the Democratic ticket.

Amber Beckett Sturgeon filed for county treasurer. Sturgeon is a Republican.

Michael J. Anderson, a Democrat, has filed for prosecuting attorney. Anderson is a familar face in the courthouse. He filled in last year as prosecutor when Michael Jackson was ill and hospitalized.

Four incumbents have declared their candidacies for re-election—Democrat Darren Garrison for circuit clerk, Democrat Mary H. VanNoy Hampton for collector, Democrat Brian Polk for presiding commissioner, and Republican Cindy Stout for recorder of deeds.

U.S. Congress

Kathy Ellis, a Democrat from Festus, has declared her candidacy for 8th District Congress. Jason Smith of Cape Girardeau, a Republican, filed for re-election as Congressman on March 1. Jonathan L. Shell of Fredericktown has filed on the Libertarian ticket.


Four Republicans have filed as committeemen/commiteewomen. Cindy Stout, Benton Township Committeewoman; Vinnie Clubb, Benton Township Committeeman; Michael Henry, St. Francis Township Committeeman; and Sue Henry, St. Francis Township Committeewoman.

Leave a Comment