Skip to content

Wayne County Election Results

Wayne County voters approved renewing a one-half cent sales tax for another six years Tuesday during the Municipal Election. Unofficial returns show that the measure had 867 YES votes and 239 NO votes.

The election featured very low voter turnout with 1,105 ballots cast. Only 12.53 percent of the county’s 8,821 registered voters cast ballots.

Steve Marler and Ronnie Walk were elected to the Greenville R-2 Board of Education. Marler received 179 votes. Walk had 167. Richard Crites received 151, Chris Marler 128, and Lisa D. Greer-Marler 92.

Robert “Bobby” Burns and Matt Graham won three-year terms on the Clearwater R-1 Board of Education. In Wayne County, Burns received 364 votes and Graham had 316. Joshua Allen received 241 and Scott Chadbourne 161. In Reynolds County, Burns received 15 votes, Graham 8, Chadbourne 6 and Allen 5.

Carroll Rainwater was re-elected Greenville mayor with 52 votes. Larry Burchard and Rendell Wills were re-elected as aldermen with 44 and 53 votes respectively.

Angela Smith won another term as Williamsville mayor with 40 votes. There were seven write-in votes for mayor. Gene Bilbrey and Brad Marler were elected aldermen with 46 and 30 votes. Helen Edwards received 24 votes. Sandy Joy received 42 votes to win a one-year unexpired term on the board. Williamsville voters also approved not having an election in the future if the number of candidates equal the number of vacancies. The measure passed 41-22.

Angela Clyburn and James T. Price were elected to fill seats on the Village of Mill Spring Board of Trustees. Clyburn received 16 votes and James T. Price had 15. Clyde Strange received 12 votes. Four write-in votes were cast. Patsy Peppers was the only person who filed to fill three one-year unexpired terms on the board. She received 20 votes. Twenty-two write-in votes were cast; results of the write-ins have not been released by the county clerk’s office as of 11 p.m. Tuesday night.

Karin Townsend was re-elected Ward I alderwoman in Piedmont. She received 38 votes. Challenger Linda Palmer had 23 votes. Scot Tucker was uncontested for another term as Ward II alderman and received 80 votes; two write-in votes were cast.

Leave a Comment