Skip to content

Cates Files for Collector

Rhonda Cates filed for Collector of Revenue. She joins David Bollinger on the Republican ballot. Mary VanNoy Hampton, the incumbent, has filed for re-election on the Democratic ticket.

Rhonda Cates, a Piedmont businesswoman, is the latest person to throw her hat into the ring for the August Primary Election. Cates will compete against David Bollinger of Greenville for the Republican nomination and the right to face incumbent Mary H. VanNoy Hampton of Piedmont, a Democrat, in the November General Election.

Filing closed at 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 27. This was one of several contested Primary Election races.

Piedmont attorney Christina L. Kime, declared her candidacy for Associate Circuit Judge. Kime is a Democrat and joins incumbent Randy P. Schuller of Piedmont on the ticket. There is no Republican candidate.

Angie Cook declared her candidacy for Recorder of Deeds. Cook is a Republican and joins incumbent Cindy Stout of Piedmont on the ballot. No Democrat had filed.

Kent Sisco of Piedmont filed on the Republican ticket for county clerk. Tara Smith, who is the deputy assessor, filed on the Democratic ticket.

Amber Beckett Sturgeon filed for county treasurer. Sturgeon is a Republican.

Michael J. Anderson, a Democrat, has filed for prosecuting attorney. Anderson is a familiar face in the courthouse. He filled in last year as prosecutor when Michael Jackson was ill and hospitalized.

Two incumbents have no opposition—Democrat Darren Garrison for circuit clerk and Democrat Brian Polk for presiding commissioner.

Chris Dinkins of Annapolis filed for re-election as 144th District state representative. Joining her on the Republican ticket are Potosi attorney Scotty Scotty Schrum and Piedmont resident Beau McCoy Gooch, a software salesman for Henry Schein.

In District 153, which is currently represented by Steve Cookson, two Republicans have declared their candidacies— Jack Johnson of Gatewood and Jeff Shawan of rural Poplar Bluff. Matt Michel of Fairdealing has filed on the Democratic ticket.

Kathy Ellis, a Democrat from Festus, has declared her candidacy for 8th District Congress. Jonathan L. Shell of Fredericktown has filed on the Libertarian ticket. Incumbent Jason Smith of Cape Girardeau filed on the Republican ticket.

Voters will also decide a race for 42nd Division Circuit Judge. Vying for the Republican nomination are Megan Seay of Salem, Scott Bernstein of Davisville, and Glenn Hall of Salem. Incumbent Sid Pearson of Salem is unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

Leave a Comment