Skip to content

42nd Judicial Circuit Court Continues Cases Due to COVID-19 (Coronavirus, Wuhan Coronavirus) State of Emergency

 In compliance with the Missouri Supreme Court’s Administrative Order 1788, the Office of State Courts Administrator’s “Statement on The Courts and the Coronavirus” and Governor Mike Parson’s March 13, 2020 Executive Order 20-02 declaring a state of emergency in Missouri, the 42nd Judicial Circuit Court, including Dent County, Crawford County, Iron County, Reynolds County, Wayne County, and any municipality contained therein, is modifying court operations in the interest of public health. 

The plan outlined below will not impact any litigant’s liberty interests or due process rights. Simultaneously, it will eliminate the inevitable close social contact found in high-volume courts. 

In support of the world-wide effort to aggressively prevent the spread of COVID-19 by limiting social contact, the court is taking the following actions: 

 All cases considered to be non-essential in preserving a litigant’s liberty interests or due process rights starting March 17 through April 3 will be postponed to a later date. As the April 3 date approaches, the Court will evaluate whether the current policy should be continued. 

 The judge presiding over each case shall determine if your case is considered to be essential to preserving a litigant’s liberty interest or due process rights. If you have access to the internet, please go to and click on With either the litigant’s name or a case number you will be able to see if the judge presiding over the case has continued the matter. If you do not have access to the internet, please contact the appropriate Circuit Clerk listed below. 

 New court dates for continued cases will be mailed to litigants or emailed to their attorneys at the address on file. If unrepresented litigants have a pending case, those litigants must keep their addresses updated with the court. To update your address, please call your respective Circuit Clerk at the following numbers. 

Crawford County Circuit Clerk: 573-775-2866 or 573-775-2149 

Dent County Circuit Clerk: 573-729-3931 

Iron County Circuit Clerk: 573-546-5700 

Reynolds County Circuit Clerk: 573-648-2494 

Wayne County Circuit Clerk: 573-224-5600 

 Victims and witnesses should contact the prosecutor’s office for information. 

For more information, please contact the Presiding Circuit Judge’s Office at 573-729-6816 

Leave a Comment