In July, the Department of Social Services (DSS) will notify Missourians who have a work requirement to receive Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TA), a cash grant and/or Food Stamp/Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits that those work requirements will resume in August. According to DSS, a household’s failure to meet the program’s work requirement could potentially mean the loss of that benefit.
The Family First Coronavirus Response Act section 2301 allowed Missouri to temporarily waive the work requirement for the Food Stamp/SNAP benefit and Governor Parson approved the DSS’s request to temporarily suspend the state statute regarding TA work requirements during COVID-19.
“Missourians receiving SNAP or TA benefits prior to COVID-19 are familiar with program work requirements,” said Jennifer Tidball, Acting Director, Department of Social Services. “However, work requirements have been waived during COVID-19 and those who enrolled in the SNAP and TA programs during that time are likely to be unfamiliar with these requirements. Many Missourians are returning to the workplace in Phase 2 of the Show Me Strong Recovery Plan. SNAP and TA recipients may need assistance to comply with work requirements and get back into the workforce.”
Food Stamp/SNAP participants who are able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWD) will receive notification in July about work requirements reinstatement in August to receive Food Stamp/SNAP benefits longer than three months. The notification will indicate the number of hours the participant is required to work or train each month through SkillUP or to provide documentation of their work or training hours within the past 30 days.
The Family Support Division will send a letter or call participants who receive Temporary Assistance (TA), also known as cash benefit, to inform them of the return of work requirements in August, the number of hours they are required to meet, and the possible impact on their benefit if the requirement is not met. TA participants are required to have a minimum number of employment and training activities hours per week unless individuals are age 60 or older, disabled or caring for a disabled household member, have a child under the age of 12 weeks; or a victim of domestic violence or a natural disaster. These individuals must meet the work requirements each week and hours can be met by working with a Missouri Work Assistance (MWA) provider.
Missourians who have questions can use the DSS Virtual Assistant to get immediate answers to basic questions that are not specific to an individual’s case 24 hours a day or can call 855-FSD-INFO or 855-373-4636 Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.