Skip to content

Burkett Wins Sheriff, Shake Up in Iron County Commission

Former Iron County Sheriff’s Deputy Jeff Burkett was elected the new Iron County sheriff Tuesday in the General Election.  To reach the General Election,  Burkett defeated incumbent Roger Medley in the August Primary and a special election in September.  

Burkett beat Independent Candidate Hershel Shipman by nearly 12% of the votes, with a total of 2,449 votes.  Shipman received only 1,949 votes.  

There was a shake up in the county commission after Tuesday’s election.  For Southern Associate Commissioner, Republican Candidate Ben Young beat incumbent Democratic Candidate Dwayne Warncke 1,564 to 965.  For Western Associate Commissioner, Republican Candidate Ronnie Chandler won with 966 votes, beating out Democratic Candidate Mark Yates, who had 770 votes.  There were 181 write-in votes; current Western Associate Commissioner Joshua Campbell waged a write-in campaign.

Iron County voters favored Republican candidates.  For President of the United States, Donald J. Trump beat out Joseph R. Biden 3,596 to 945 votes in Iron County.  

Current Governor Mike Parson was the preference of Iron County voters. Parson had 3,266 to Missouri Auditor and Democratic candidate Nichole Galloway’s 1,105 votes.  Residents chose Mike Kehoe over Alissia Canady with 3,313 to 934 votes.  John R. “Jay” Ashcroft won the votes in Iron County for Secretary of State beating out Democratic Candidate Yinka Faleti, 3,493 to 789.

In Iron County, Republican Candidate Scott Fitzpatrick topped Deocratic Candidate Vicki Lorenz Englund, 3,334 to 940 for State Treasurer.  For Attorney General in Missouri, Republican Candidate Eric Schmitt received 3,350 votes while Rich Finneran, a Democrat, received 891 votes. 

Residents of Iron County favored incumbent Jason Smith for District 8 U.S. Representative with 3,358 votes to Kathy Ellis’ 985.

All results are unofficial until certified with the Secretary of State’s office.

Leave a Comment