Skip to content

Horn Elected Reynolds County Sheriff

Donald Horn will be Reynolds County’s new sheriff effective Jan. 1. Horn beat Republican Cody Newman Tuesday in the General Election.

Horn received 57.86 percent of the popular vote to win his first term in office. Horn defeated incumbent in the August Primary Election to win the Democratic nomination.

Horn received 1,861 votes. Newman, a Republican, received 1,341 votes.

Larry Pogue Jr was unopposed for 1st District Commissioner and Eddie Williams as 2nd District Commissioner. Rick Parker won another term as assessor and Jeffrey McSpadden another term as coroner. Robyn Gray was re-elected public administrator. All are Democrats.

County Clerk Mike Harper said that the voter turnout in Reynolds County was huge. Unofficial returns show that 74.81 percent of the county’s 4451 registered voters cast ballots.

In other contested races, Reynolds County voters leaned Republican. Reynolds County voters favored Donald Trump for president and Mike Parson for governor. Their pick for lt. governor was Mike Kehoe, and John (Jay) Ashcroft as secretary of state. Their pick for state treasurer was Scott Fitzpatrick and Eric Schmitt was the pick for attorney general. Jason Smith carried Reynolds County for another term in U.S. Congress, garnering 80.54 percent of the votes.

Leave a Comment