Skip to content

12 Named to Historical Society’s Hall of Honor

Lavern Daves of Silva, fourth from left, was one of 11 individuals and one musical group who were named to the Wayne County Historical Society’s Hall of Honor Aug. 10 during a banquet at Eagle Sky Christian Camp.

Helen Crites, at right, was the other living honoree. She is pictured addressing the crowd after being honored.

The Wayne County Historical Society hosted their 1st annual Wayne County Hall of Honor Banquet on Tuesday, August 10, at the Eagle Sky of the Ozarks Convention Center at Patterson. The event was well attended with 147 present. Some attendees came as far as the states of Oregon and California to attend the awards ceremony.
Among those being honored were Helen Crites of Williamsville and Lavern Daves of Silva. Posthumous inductees included, Gov. Sam A. Baker, Virgil M. Clubb, Rose (Fulton) Cramer, Charles L. Ellinghouse, Sr., Rev. L.A. Davis, Hiram N. Holladay, Bernarr Macfadden, Rev. Ezekiel C. Rubottom, Bernice (Elayer) Twidwell, and The Ozark Harmony Boys (Oresta Atnip, Calvin Bridges, Forrest Twidwell, Glendell “Booge” Twidwell, with Jean Tolbert, pianist). The diverse group of individuals represented a span of time of 251 years.
Those in attendance included, Missouri Senator from the 27th District, Holly Rehder; Missouri District #144 Representative, Christina Dinkins; Missouri District #153 Representative, Darrell Atchison; Wayne County Associate Circuit Judge, Christina Kime; Wayne County Treasurer, Amber Sturgeon; Mike Schoelhamer of Silva, representing United States Congressman, Jason Smith; Sandra Crites Joy, Mayor of Williamsville and Vinnie Clubb, President of the Piedmont Area Chamber of Commerce.
David Bollinger, President of the Wayne County Historical Society, emceed the event. Bollinger presented Helen Crites and Lavern Daves with lifetime membership certificates in the Wayne County Historical Society. Crites and Daves were also presented with Resolutions from the Missouri House of Representatives and U.S. Congressman, Jason Smith. Entertainment for the evening was provided by Wayne County Historical Society member, Mike Henson of Piedmont. Henson performed “God Bless America,” “America the Beautiful” and “The Missouri Waltz”.
Several of the inductees had spokespersons. Crites and Daves spoke for themselves. Linda (Twidwell) Jones of Poplar Bluff spoke on behalf of The Ozark Harmony Boys, Nicki Patterson of Troutdale, Oregon spoke on behalf of her grandfather Virgil Clubb, Harold Ellinghouse of Piedmont spoke on behalf of his father Charles Ellinghouse, Kim Hughey of Clubb spoke on behalf of her grandmother Bernice Twidwell, and Mike Robbins, Assistant Superintendent of Sam A. Baker State Park, represented the Department of Natural Resources in help honoring former Missouri Governor Sam A. Baker.
Special customized plaques were designed for each honoree. The plaques will be placed on permanented display and in public view to honor each inductee.
The evening was enjoyed by all present and many commented positively on the facilities of the Eagle Sky complex and staff. Bollinger encouraged all present to become part of the Wayne County Historical Society. Members of the Society will be allowed to participate in the 2022 Wayne County Hall of Honor election process.
To join the Wayne County Historical Society, you may mail a check to: WCHS c/o Rita Clements, Secretary, PO Box 222, Piedmont, MO. 63957. Annual membership is $15.00, or a lifetime membership is $100.00.

Leave a Comment